UPSC Civil Services Examination Dates

Union Public Service Commission has announced new tentative schedule for civil services exams 2018.


Date of notification: - 07.02.2018
Last date for receipt of application: - 06.03.2018 (TUESDAY)
Date of commencement of exam: - 03.06.2018 (SUNDAY)
Duration of exam: - 1 DAYS


Date of commencement of exam: - 01.10.2018 (MONDAY)
Duration of exam: - 5 DAYS

For complete notification Click Here

Indian Railway Zones and their Headquarters

  1. Northern Railway -Delhi 
  2. North Eastern Railway - Gorakhpur 
  3. Northeast Frontier Railway - Maligaon(Guwahati) 
  4. Eastern Railway- Kolkata 
  5. South Eastern Railway - Kolkata 
  6. South Central Railway - Secunderabad 
  7. Southern Railway - Chennai 
  8. Central Railway - Mumbai 
  9. Western Railway - Mumbai 
  10. South Western Railway - Hubli 
  11. North Western Railway - jaipur 
  12. West Central Railway - jabalpur 
  13. North Central Railway - Allahabad 
  14. South East Central Railway - Bilaspur 
  15. East Coast Railway - Bhubaneswar 
  16. East Central Railway - Hajipur 
  17. Kolkata Metro - Kolkata

Head of International Organisations

Heads of Specialized organisations and agencies of the United Nations

(1) Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) — José Graziano da Silva
(2) International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)— Yukiya Amano
(3) International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) — Fang Liu
(4) International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD) — Gilbert Houngbo
(5) International Labour Organization (ILO ) — Guy Ryder
(6) International Maritime Organization (IMO) — Kitack Lim
(7) International Monetary Fund (IMF) — Christine Lagarde
(8) International Telecommunication Union (ITU) — Houlin Zhao
(9) United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) — Audrey Azoulay
(10) Universal Postal Union (UPU) — Bishar Abdirahman Hussein
(11) World Bank (IBRD) — Jim Yong Kim
(12) World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) — Francis Gurry
(13) World Meteorological Organization (WMO) — Petteri Taalas (Secretary-General), David Grimes (President)
(14) World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) — Zurab Pololikashvili
(15) United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) — Yuri Fedotov
(16) United Nations Data and Information Organization (UNDIO) — Louis R. Rutinduka

Facts About Indian Currency

  • The first coins were minted (made) around 2500 years ago.
  • Paper money was first used in China over 1000 years ago.
  • The first "rupee” was first introduced by Sher Shah Suri. It was based on a ratio of 40 copper pieces (paisa) per rupee.
  • Udaya K Dharmalingam is the designer of the Indian rupee Symbol, which was adopted by the Government of India in 2010.
  • From 1953, Hindi was displayed prominently on the new notes.
  • The Government of India took over the issue of bank notes in 1861 from the Private and Presidency Banks.
  • The first series of coins with theIndian rupee symbol was launched on 8 July, 2011.
  • The first 1000 Rs Note was introduced in 2000.
  • The first 20 Rs and 5 Rs note was introduced in 2001.
  • Decimalization started in 1957 and the rupee was divided into 100 Naye Paise.
  • Total 15 Languages (Apart from English) are printed in Indian Rupee Note. They are Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Malayalam, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Panjabi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu.
  • In India, the first paper bank note was published by Bank of Hindustan in 1770.
  • The current Mahatma Gandhi series of bank notes stared from 1996 with new series of 10Rs notes.
  • Indian coins are produced in 4 cities: Noida, Mumbai, Hyderabad, Kolkata. The coins produce from each city puts an identification mark under the year of issue. Coins produced in Noida have a dot mark, Mumbai have diamond mark, Hyderabad have star mark and coin produce from Kolkata have nothing beneath the year.
  • Credit cards were first used in the United States in the 1920’s.